Editors’ note:

This is part of an on-going series of posts on the Valley’s creative movement and its counterpart the central valley brain drain.

If you are part of the brain drain and would like to participate, answer the questions you see below and send them to valley.notes AT gmail DOT com. Please give us ideas on how we can improve this series.

Brain Drain Chronicles: Arthur, 26

Name: Arthur

Age: 26

Where did you attend high school? Clovis High School

What is your educational background?

Attended Stanford University as an undergrad, was majoring in English Literature, but I didn’t complete the degree. Maybe I’ll finish it some other time in the distant future.

What is your current occupation?

Administrative Assistant at Space Systems Loral (they design satellites).

Where and how long did you live in the central valley?

I was born in Fresno and pretty much lived there until I left for college. I briefly moved back for a year or so before leaving yet again.

Where do you live now?

San Mateo, CA
Why do you (don’t you) live in the central San Joaquin Valley?

After moving to the bay area, Fresno became a much smaller space to me. When I visit home these days, time feels like it’s slowed down and I get irritated by the monotonousness. I prefer to immerse myself within a more diverse environment, which I feel the bay area offers at the moment.

What are the secondary reasons?

Aside from my family, nobody I am close to stayed behind. Most of my Fresno/Clovis friends have moved on themselves. I feel like I have a much more defined social network where I currently live.

Also, I noticed some people mentioned the heat. The heat during the summer is absolutely unbearable for me now that I’ve experienced less scorching summers.

What are the top 5-10 adjectives that come to mind when you think of the central valley?

Negatives: slow, synthetic, lacking. Positives: fertile (referring to the actual countryside), comfortable, homely.

If you do not currently live in the central San Joaquin Valley, what changes/acts of God would need to occur in order for you to move there?

I think maybe with age I’d consider returning to Fresno. Well, maybe I’d just own property that I could visit at my convenience.

I guess also, if any of my immediate family ever required assistance, I’d return.

If you do not currently live in the central San Joaquin Valley, what price would make it worthwhile?

Maybe if I was financially set up that I could travel outside of Fresno with ease and frequency.

Feel free to add any comments.

Fresno will always be home. And I genuinely feel satisfied with my upbringing there. I hope to see it flourish culturally. There’s a lot of potential that just needs to be fully realized.