Editors’ note:

This is part of an on-going series of posts on the Valley’s creative movement and its counterpart the central valley brain drain. We’re tracking down former Valley residents (with a preference on educated “creative class”-types) and finding out what they’re doing, why they don’t live in the Valley, and what it would take for them to move back.

If you are part of the brain drain and would like to participate, answer the questions you see below and send them to valley.notes@gmail.com. We know using our network alone will have an inherent bias.

Please give us ideas on how we can improve this series.

Brain Drain Chronicles: Bret, 26

Name (first name OK): Bret

Age: 26

Where did you attend high school? Clovis High

What is your educational background? I have a BA in music from UCLA and an MM (Master of Music) degree with a focus in clarinet performance from USC. I’m in my first year of law school at Yale.

What is your current occupation? Law student.

Where and how long did you live in the central valley? I lived in Clovis from the time I was born until I graduated from high school (1982-2000).

Where do you live now? New Haven, CT.

Why do you (don’t you) live in the central San Joaquin Valley? School, primarily.

What are the secondary reasons? I’m in New Haven almost solely because of school, although I did have a general desire to experience life on the East Coast. If I wasn’t in New Haven I would probably be living in LA: great weather, good job opportunities, fair amount of cultural events, and friends from college and grad school.

What are the top 5-10 adjectives that come to mind when you think of the central valley?

Hot
Affordable
Flat
Conservative
Midwestern
Agricultural
Diverse

If you do not currently live in the central San Joaquin Valley, what changes/acts of God would need to occur in order for you to move there?

Generally, I would need to find an extremely promising career opportunity. The most interesting and exciting legal jobs tend to be clustered in the nation’s largest metropolitan areas (NY, LA, DC, SF, Chicago, Boston, etc.) However, I would consider moving back to the Valley for personal reasons such as an illness in the family.

If you do not currently live in the central San Joaquin Valley, what price would make it worthwhile?

Same as my answer to the last question.

Feel free to add any comments.

I think the Valley is generally a nice place to live, especially if you are raising a family. The cost of living is relatively low, the schools are decent, it’s easy to get around. In my opinion, Valley weather is much better than the long winters of the East Coast. But for young people who want to build a career and/or party through their twenties or thirties, the Valley can seem like a dead-end. There just seem to be more jobs with a chance for advancement, and a more vibrant social scene, in other parts of the country.